I did it with my wife today!

Get your mind out of the gutter, you naughty person…  😉

I’m actually referring to the 1 on 2 personal training session we had together this morning.  Kirt and I quite enjoy exercising together but for several years now our exercise interests have not aligned very often so today was really enjoyable.

One of the challenges most people have about living a healthier lifestyle is ‘finding time to exercise’.  My business requires me to work with individuals around things like work-life balance, career planning, management skills (among other things).  One of the things I’ve noticed in all of these domains is that comment “I can’t find the time to….[exercise, pursue a hobby, plan a career, develop a team member, insert activity of your choosing]”.  Obviously there are only so many hours in the day and it’s the same for all of us, so ‘finding’ time may be a little unlikely.  If you do have a stash of extra time I suggest you keep it a secret.  Instead the mindset needs to be one of making time (not making it up, but making the activity fit.  One approach that I often suggest is trying to align several things.  For example, if you don’t have time to exercise and you don’t see your friends as often as you’d like, perhaps link the two and do some exercise with a friend.  I know a manager who takes meetings while on his lunchtime walk.  The anecdotes abound.  How much business gets done on the Golf Course…?

So anyway, thats what Kirt and I were able to do.  We got to spend some enjoyable time with one another at the start of a busy day for both of us AND we got some valuable exercise in to boot.

An additional benefit to the 1 on 2 approach was the extra motivation via some healthy competition AND I think when both partners understand where each other is at, it makes it easier to make smarter (healthier) choices for the rest of the day.  For instance, I’m not trying to choose healthy options and avoid sugary snacks while watching my partner devour a pack of Tim Tams.  MUCH EASIER.

Now, lets see if you’ve managed to recover from todays blog title….

Leave a Reply

