First 5km Done.

OMG!  I’ve been doing the weights component of my training really diligently and have been enjoying it but there’s been this nagging feeling tugging at the corners of my awareness and now I know what it is.

My weekly plan has a little bit of cardio in it.  Not much, just a bit.  Now I know how important cardio is and believe it or not, I actually enjoy it…. When I’m fit.  When I’m not fit, like now.  Cardio is a very, very dirty word.  Suffice to say I’ve been putting it off, avoiding it, getting slightly injured and somewhat distracted and generally skirting around the big elephant in the room.  “Sean, you’re not very fit; it’s going to hurt; you might not be ready for this yet,” and perhaps the biggest of them all… “You’re going to be heaps slower than when you were at your peak.”

I may have mentioned this about myself already but I’m a kinda all or nothing guy.  I’m learning to live with it but the consequences rears it’s head from time to time and catches me unawares.  You know how the sub-conscious does that, sneaks up and derails you?

So I do a really good week and judge myself not from the 6 sessions I nailed, but from the 1 were I didn’t feel so strong.  Crazy right?

Well today was Parkrun.  A free 5km timed running event held every Sat morning at New Farm park.  If my wife didn’t drag my sorry butt out of bed, into the car, out of the car and down to the park I wouldn’t have done it.  And I would’ve been sorry.

There’s a poster on the wall at the Zenergy studio.  I love it and hate it at the same time because it speaks directly to me.  It says “There is the pain of discipline and the pain of regret.  Choose wisely.”

I can’t say as I owned my choice today but I went along despite the creak, groans, negative self talk and an array of aches (perhaps psychosomatic??) and did my first 5km run in over 12 months.  Not fast.  Not pretty.  But definitely done.  And you know what?

I feel really good about myself now.  Funny that hey?

Leave a Reply

