Inspirational Message from One of the Best

Tony and I were talking after a strong workout together and he mentioned Arnie’s 6 Rules for Success.  I went onto Youtube when I got home and looked them up.  Sometimes the simple things really are the best aren’t they?

His rules are:

  1. Trust yourself
  2. Break some rules
  3. Don’t be afraid to fail
  4. Don’t listen to the naysayers
  5. Work like hell
  6. Give something back

You can view the video here if you want to hear Arnie explain each of them in a little more detail.

I’ve decided to try and implement one of his tips.  No. 5 Work Like Hell.

He talks about a friend who, when asked how many sit ups he does, responded by saying “I don’t know.  I don’t start counting them until it hurts.  They’re the only ones that matter.”

I’ll let you know how I go with that.  Me thinks it’s gonna hurt, but in a good way.  😉

I’ve been getting better with my planning over the past few weeks too.  I’ve noticed that it’s much easier to stick to healthy food choices if I’ve prepared them and have them with me.

My day normally unrolls in front of me and I’m not the best forward planner so it doesn’t come naturally to me but boy o boy, it sure makes a difference.  I get hungry, I go to my lunch box and eat a perfect meal.

Without planning, I get hungry and I either miss the meal entirely or even worse go and get some bad food.  Same for the training sessions.  If I put them all in my diary at the start of each week I can see where I might need to move things around in order to get them in.  If I just leave it and then on the day realise I should’ve trained early as I’ll be working late then I’ve missed the session.

My Training Tips:  

  • Stand on the shoulders of giants 
  • Do a little weekly planning and see what difference it makes.

Be good.  Or good at it.

Sean.

Leave a Reply

