There’s something funny going on around here.

Apart from being lyrics to a Joe Jackson song I think there is something funny going on around here.

And by here I mean inside my head.

For some reason I’ve not been feeling, or should I say ‘thinking’ that great. I’ve not been down on myself, just not taking much satisfaction or pleasure from the things I’m doing well and choosing to pick on the small gaps where I don’t do so well.  Whether it’s a missed session, or one instead of two, or a piece of cake at a workshop instead of nuts and fruit.  They’re not big things but I’ve got another measure coming up soon and after two really good months I’m feeling the pressure of keeping it going.

Silly hey?

I was talking to Tony about this and not being able to put my finger on anything and that it was making me reluctant to write.  I didn’t want to bore you with the crap-talk that goes on in the Sean head.  And incidentally as you write about these things they sort of go away.  So I’d sort of go through the process in my head and reach the conclusion that I was being silly (thinking however I was thinking) and then would be left with nothing to write.  Anyway, we discussed the purpose of the blog and I recognised that if I’m experiencing these sort of ups and downs mentally, then probably others do too.  And if that’s the case then talking myself through it and sharing that with you (or them if you’re of consistently positive mindset) could actually be useful.  If for no other reason than to let you know you’re not alone.

So.  What am I going to do about this general malaise?  Good question.  Got any answers for me?

Training Tip:  don’t be afraid to ask for help.

I got stuck on the bench doing a bench squat the other day and had to call out to someone to help me stand up again.  Kinda embarrassing but at least they knew I was working at my limit and not taking the easy road.

Leave a Reply

