I’m Better when I’m Busy

I don’t know what it is about this.  If I’ve got all day to do something, whether its going to the gym, writing a report, making a phone call, whatever – it seems to take me a whole day  and then some!  Crazy but unfortunately it’s true for me.

The flip side of this is that when I’m busy I seem to be better.  Better coordinated, less procrastination, even more energy and vitality.  These past few days have been pretty busy for me and it’s been great.  I’ve gotten in my workouts and did them well. I’ve been eating well and as a result I’m starting to feel good again.  I’ll tell you whats crazy. My self-image changes based on how I’m feeling.  When I feel good I swear I look fitter, leaner, more defined than when I’m feeling shit.  Now I know my body doesn’t change overnight but my self perception certainly does.

Something I’ve shared before that I find challenging is to be happy with where you’re at when you’re not where you want to be.  For instance say I want to lose 10kg’s (I don’t, but lets say that I did).  At any given point until I’ve achieved that I’m not where I want to be.  Anyway Tony shared something that struck a chord for me.  The secret is about being happy with the effort you’ve put in (diet, training etc), rather than focusing on the result (eg/ weight loss).  This explained my ho hum mood this past few weeks.  I’ve not been putting in much effort and that’s been bugging me.

I now seem to be back on the horse again.  Geez what an emotional see-saw I am hey?

Have a great weekend guys.  I’ll post my measurement/weigh in results tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

