This weeks small challenge

Hi.  I hope you’ve had a productive and enjoyable day.  I was working with several clients who have recently been made redundant.  It’s always an interesting experience getting to know them.  It starts off quite emotional, when they’re first told of being made redundant.   They’re vulnerable, shocked and more than a little nervous about what the future holds.  My role is to help them find other suitable employment as soon as possible.  What I love is seeing their perspective shift from “this is crap” to “wow, there’s heaps of cool possibilities”.  There’s a saying that says something (that’s what sayings do apparently) about helping others and in return you help yourself.  I’m not sure who said it, or even exactly what they said but I know it’s true.  Whenever I’m feeling miserable I know it’s good to stop thinking about myself and focus on someone else.  BTW, that doesn’t mean that I’m always successful in doing this…  Anyway, that’s what I get to do, focus on someone else, when working with my clients and it’s always beneficial for me to do that, even if I’m not feeling miserable.

Hmmm.  Not sure how I got onto that topic….  Oh yeah that’s it.  Having trouble with your fitness goals?  Finding it difficult to stick to your food plan?  Don’t want to go out and do any exercise?  Might I suggest a spot of “doing it with a friend?”  Get out of your own way, stop worrying about yourself so much and focus on the friend.  See if you can help them through your example, agree a session together and turn up to collect them so they can’t pull out, going out for drinks?  Agree in advance to eat a healthy salad before hand or something?  If you pair up you might find it easier to hold yourself accountable and get instant support when you need it.  Let me know how you go.

This weeks challenge was to get off the couch.  Put simply, it was move more.  It doesn’t have to be a marathon but be conscious that lots of small movements adds up.  For example for me that means don’t drive to the dog park, walk there.   Park further away from the shopping centre entrance and that’s about all I can think of now, but you get the picture right?  Tony’s probably a better person to talk to about this as it links well with his five minute fitness philosophy.

So far, I’m drinking more water, sleeping 7-8 hours (most nights) and now adding more movement to my day.  All doable so far.

Leave a Reply

