25 chins a’int as scary as it used to be….

I never thought I’d hear myself say this but it’s true.  25 chins ups is no longer as incredibly daunting as it used to be.  Now I know that with consistent training over time I will improve (all things being equal) but chins for me were a real barrier.  No matter how often I did them, whether I added some negative reps on the end or started off doing some weighted chins to build strength, they always seemed bloody difficult.

Well, the other day in the process of introducing a mate to the wonders of high intensity training I had an epiphany.  We were doing Spartan 300.  On our own.  Not because a trainer made me…  I know, crazy stuff and what was I doing putting my mate through that on his third workout.  he he he.  Evil Sean was out to play.  My justification was that we needed a baseline to see how much he had improved in a months time.

Anyway, we started off with our 25 chins.  I smashed it!!  Not 25 straight and certainly not super-strict but I still smashed them.  The total time I posted was not a pb but it was still solid and some of the weights were a little heavier than last time but all good.  I’m not complaining at all.  In fact I’m pretty happy about it really.

I’m actually looking forward to the next time we do it.  Not sure my mate is though.  It really broke him and showed just how far he’d let himself go over the years.  But, he’s on the right track and I think he’s got good genes so expect a post in the not-too-distant future with me complaining about his rapid results.

Night

 

Leave a Reply

