It’s all in your head!

I don’t know about you but Ive found that much of what I can and can’t do in the gym (and life generally) is all in my head.  If I think I can’t do something…. I’m usually right.  That’s not to say that just thinking I can do it is the antidote, but it’s certainly the precursor to it.  One think I particularly love about 1on1 PT is that surrender of your consciousness.  No, it’s not as esoteric as I’m making it sound.  I’m talking about the inner dialogue in our heads that say’s things like… “Ouch, that’s heavy” or “I can only do one more”, or “If I don’t pace myself I won’t make it.”  For the most part when I’m training with Tony that bit of my brain gets turned off.  I just listen and do what he tells me and it’s amazing what we manage to get through.  All I need to do now is learn how to turn that voice off when I’m training by myself.  Any tips that have worked for you?

 

Leave a Reply

